There will not be a new Prince EP out this Friday

Primary tabs

Deliverance was to feature six tracks Prince wrote between 2006 and 2008.

This Friday marks one year since the passing of pop icon and all-round musical genius Prince. In honour of the anniversary, an old Prince collaborator had plans to release a new six-track EP called Deliverance. But Prince's estate had other ideas.

The songs were all written by Prince and collaborator Ian Boxill between 2006 and 2008, when Prince was without a record label. As such, Boxill decided he could release the music through an independent label and issued a press release stating that the majority of all sales “will benefit Prince’s estate”.

“I believe Deliverance is a timely release with everything going on in the world today, and in light of the one-year anniversary of his passing. I hope when people hear Prince singing these songs it will bring comfort to many.” Boxill said in his statement earlier this week.

But Prince's estate were less enthused about the release of material from Prince's famed vaults, filing a lawsuit against Boxill to stop its release.

Paisley Park Enterprises filed the suit last Friday and it has now been transferred to federal court, according to NPR. The suit alleges Boxill breached his contract, accusing him of theft and misappropriation of the recordings.

TMZ now reports that the court has ruled in Paisley Park Enterprises' favour and ordered the cancellation of tomorrow's proposed release. In their ruling, the judge reportedly referenced a confidentiality agreement Boxill signed in 2006.

This is just the first instance of someone attempting to release the music in Prince's famed vault of tapes, which is said to feature thousands of hours of recordings. 

“Prince once told me that he would go to bed every night thinking of ways to bypass major labels and get his music directly to the public," Boxill wrote. "When considering how to release this important work, we decided to go independent because that's what Prince would have wanted.”

Boxill had also planned for a physical release of the Deliverance EP to surface at the beginning of June.

It's not coming out anymore, but here's what the tracklist would have looked like:

1. Deliverance
2. I Am
3. Touch Me
4. Sunrise Sunset
5. No One Else
6. I Am (extended)

Double J celebrates the life of Prince on The J Files tonight from 8pm