The Living End announce new album and national tour

Primary tabs

Wunderbar will be out in September, and it's gonna be 'raw, conscious, and politically vital'.

We don’t need to give you any introduction to Australian rock’n’roll titans The Living End.

If you really need to know who they are – head here and be schooled.

What we do need to tell you is that the band’s eighth studio record is finished and ready for release. It will be called Wunderbar – most likely a nod to Germany, where they made the record – and it will be out on Friday 28 September.

In describing the record, frontman Chris Cheney used the kind of words that will make any TLE fan feel very relaxed about what’s to come.

“Straightforward, heart-pounding, guns blazing rock and roll,” he said in a statement today.

That statement also suggested that this will be one of the band’s most “raw, conscious, and politically vital” records to date. After hearing the first single, we’re not surprised. But we’re very glad.

 

Of course, the band are going to be heading out on the road in support of the record. Playing live is arguably what they do best.

Here are the dates for their capital city shows. Tickets are on sale Friday morning – get in quick!

Thursday 1 November – The Tivoli, Brisbane
Friday 2 November – Enmore Theatre, Sydney
Saturday 3 November – The Forum, Melbourne
Friday 9 November – Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide
Saturday 10 November – Metropolis, Fremantle

The band also have the following regional festival dates locked in.

Friday 21 September – Carnival Of Flowers, Toowoomba
Saturday 22 September – Sugar City Sounds, Mackay
Sunday 30 September – Caloundra Music Festival
Sunday 4 November – Scene & Heard Festival, Newcastle

And the following shows as a part of the Red Hot Summer Tour, with Joan Jett & the Blackhearts, Jimmy Barnes, Diesel, Richard Clapton and Chocolate Starfish.

Saturday 12 January – Mary Ann Reserve, Mannum
Sunday 13 January – Sandalford Wines, Swan Valley
Saturday 19 January – Mornington Racecourse, Mornington (Sold Out)
Sunday 20 January – Mornington Racecourse, Mornington
Saturday 26 January – Country Club Lawns, Launceston
Sunday 27 January – North Gardens, Ballarat
Saturday 2 February – Roche Estate, Hunter Valley
Sunday 3 February – Bella Vista Farm, Baulkham Hills
Saturday 9 February – Sandstone Point Hotel, Bribie Island (Sold Out)
Sunday 10 February – Sandstone Point Hotel, Bribie Island

Open