The Waifs celebrate their 25th anniversary with 25 date tour and new album

Primary tabs

The Waifs will release Ironbark in March and head out on the road straight away.

The Waifs have now been together for a quarter of a century and have spent a great deal of that time as one of the country’s most cherished folk groups. So it stands to reason that the band want to celebrate this momentous anniversary in the only way they know how.

RELATED: The J Files: The Waifs

There’ll be a new, 14-track record, called Ironbark, released on Friday 3 March and a bonus 11 tracks to bring it up to the magic number 25. The band are amping up for the release by dropping a brand new song each and every week, from today through til the week of release.

Here’s the first one:

 

As the record hits stores around the country, the band will then embark on a massive run around the country playing – you guessed it – 25 dates in just about every area of the country they can reach.

Fittingly, they both start and finish in Western Australia, where the band hails from initially, but they cover a hell of a lot of ground in between. Some of the shows are intimate, some of them are in big, beautiful theatres, all of them will undoubtedly be very special.

Here is the full list of dates:

Thursday 2 March – Perth Concert Hall, Perth
Saturday 4 March – 3 Oceans Winery, Margaret River
Sunday 5 March – Castelli Winery, Denmark
Monday 6 March – Quindanning Hotel, Quindanning             
Thursday 9 March – Fremantle Arts Centre, Fremantle
Saturday 11 March – Womadelaide, Adelaide
Sunday 12 March – Port Fairy Folk Festival, Port Fairy
Monday 13 March – Port Fairy Folk Festival, Port Fairy
Tuesday 14 March – Eastbank Centre, Shepparton
Wednesday 15 March – Albury Arts Centre, Albury
Thursday 16 March – Canberra Theatre Centre, Canberra
Saturday 18 March – Blue Mountains Folk Festival, Katoomba
Sunday 19 March – Anitas Theatre, Thirroul
Saturday 25 March – The Odeon Theatre, Hobart
Sunday 26 March – The Don Centre, Devonport
Tuesday 28 March – The Ulumbarra Theatre, Bendigo
Thursday 30 March – Hamer Hall, Melbourne
Saturday 1 April – Enmore Theatre, Sydney
Tuesday 4 April – Bangalow Hall, Bangalow
Thursday 6 April – The Tivoli, Brisbane
Saturday 8 April – NightQuarter, Gold Coast
Sunday 9 April – Munro Martin Parklands, Cairns
Wednesday 12 April – Araluen Arts Centre, Alice Springs
Thursday 13 April – Darwin Entertainment Centre, Darwin
Saturday 15 April – The Roebuck Bay Hotel, Broome

Grab your tickets from Friday onwards. 

Open