These 9 albums are up for the prestigious Australian Music Prize

Primary tabs

Who will take home the $30,000?

The Australian Music Prize (The AMP) is one of the most highly sought-after prizes in Australian music. It is unique in that it celebrates the album, giving proof that the format still looms large in the world of music, despite the prevalence of single downloads and streaming.

Each year a panel of judges listen to dozens of Australian albums and somehow whittle it down to a shortlist of only the absolute best. Today that shortlist has been revealed.

It’s an intriguing list that doesn’t necessarily focus on the year’s most popular records (though the highest selling Australian album of the year does get a nod). Rather, it showcases the immense diversity of quality Australian, largely underground, music.

There’s psych-rock, electronic, neo-soul, hip hop, Afro-Cuban and artful indie in the mix, to name just a few of the genre touchpoints represented.

And, in case you’re keeping count, four of the nine records also feature on Double J’s 50 best albums of 2017.

The shortlist is as follows:

Beaches – Second of Spring
Darcy Baylis – Intimacy & Isolation
HTMLflowers – Chrome Halo
Jen Cloher – Jen Cloher
Jordan Rakei – Wallflower
Liars – TFCF
Paul Kelly – Life is Fine
Sampa The Great – Birds and the BEE9
The Vampires – The Vampires Meet Lionel Loueke

One of these artists will join the likes of Courtney Barnett, The Drones, Augie March, Eddy Current Suppression Ring and A.B. Original and take home the $30,000 prize and much sought-after bragging rights.

The AMP will be awarded on Friday 9 March.